Know the meaning of HALAL

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. The opposite of Halal is Haram, which means unlawful or prohibited. Halal and Haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. However, we will use these terms only in relation to food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, food ingredients, and food contact materials.

While many things are clearly Halal or clearly Haram, there are some things which are not clear. These items are considered questionable or suspect and more information is needed to categorize them as Halal or Haram. Such items are often referred to as Mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable.

All foods are considered Halal except the following, which are Haram:

- Swine/pork and its by-products
- Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
- Animals killed in the name of anyone other than ALLAH (God)
- Alcohol and intoxicants
- Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears
- Blood and blood by-products
- Foods contaminated with any of the above products

Halalan toyibban merely means allowed and permissible for consumption with relation to Syariah law as long as they are safe and not harmful. The opposite of Halal is Haram / non-Halal that means forbidden and prohibited. Any food or drink which lies within the grey area and does not fall clearly under the Halal or non-Halal category is classified as Syubhah', alternatively called questionable or dubious. In this category, until the status becomes clear, Muslims should avoid consuming Syubhah food or drinks.

The general principle concerning food according to Islamic teachings is that everything is Halal except impurity (or mixed with impurity), harmful and intoxicant. Therefore, it is compulsory for Muslims to eat good and healthy food and to avoid all that is forbidden by Allah.

Halal Food - Production, Preparation, Handling and Storage - General Guideline (First Revision) as food permitted under Shari'ah and fulfills the following conditions:
- Does not contain any parts or products of animals that are non-Halal to Muslims or products of animals which are not slaughtered according to Shari'ah law,
- Does not contain any ingredients that are Najs according to Shari'ah law,
- Is safe and not harmful,
- Is not prepared, processed or manufactured using equipment that is contaminated with things that are Najs (filth or unclean) according to Shari'ah law,
- The food or its ingredients do not contain any human parts or its derivatives that are not permitted by Shari'ah law,
- And during its preparation, processing, packaging, storage or transportation, the food is physically separated from any other food that does not meet the requirements stated in any above items, or any other things that have been decreed as Najs (filth or unclean) by Shari'ah law.